Attention All K-3 Readers!

  • CdAReads is our summer reading program. This is our ":What are you reading graphic."

    Welcome, Summer Readers!

    You are invited for 2 hours every Monday and Wednesday of Summer excitement and adventure with #CdAReads!  Come experience the imagination and lore of enjoying fun games and good books with your friends and mentors!  To see what wonders await, please be certain to attend the summer reading dates at right.

    Summer 2018 K-3 Literacy: #CdAReads.  

    This community-wide celebration of reading provides opportunities to all K-3 students, facilitates the school-community connection, and supports the elements of good reading instruction throughout the summer months. As simple as it sounds, reading books can reverse the summer slide in literacy skills. Richard Allington, a professor at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and his colleagues found that giving kids 12 books to read over the summer was as effective as summer school in raising the students’ reading scores.


    Download & print:  #CdaReads Flyer [pdf]   #CdaReads Event Dates [pdf]


    Event schedule: 

    • 10:00 - 10:20 = Students sign-in and participate in music and games with mentors and staff members.
    • 10:20 - 10:30 = Students receive #CdAReads t-shirts.
    • 10:30 - 10:45 = Students select 3 books "to keep" & a buddy / mentor for the day
    • 10:45- 11:25 = Students read with mentors and/or staff members.
    • 11:25 - noon = Students enjoy school lunch.

    Have a question? Check out our FAQs page.

    For more, contact Spencer Normington at snormington@cdaschools.org.


    In the most wonderful books,
    you cannot imagine the marvelous surprises that await you!

     

List of Events:

  • JUNE

    Monday, June 18  - Ramsey Magnet School

    Wednesday, June 20 - Borah Elementary

    Monday, June 25 - Hayden Library (Dalton)

    Wednesday, June 27 - Bryan Elementary

    JULY

    Monday, July 9 - Riverstone Park

    Wednesday, July 11 - CdA Public Library (Fernan STEM)

    Monday, July 16 - Atlas Elementary

    Wednesday, July 18 - Northwest Expedition Academy

    Monday, July 23 - Winton Elementary

    Wednesday, July 25 - Skyway Elementary

    Monday, July 30 - Sorensen Magnet School

    AUGUST

    Wednesday, Aug. 1 - KROC Center

    Monday, Aug. 6 - Boys & Girls Club (CdA)

    Wednesday, Aug. 8 - Hayden Meadows