cello lesson

PRIVATE LESSONS

  • Students who are taking private lessons in addition to their music class show a higher rate of success and a higher level of enjoyment on their instrument. These students have a lower frustration level because they are able to receive more individualized attention that they cannot always receive in class due to the structure and size of the class. Students who seek the additional help of a private teacher are more likely to continue on their instrument.

    Private lessons typically cost $20-25 for a ½ hour lesson and $40-$50 for an hour lesson, depending on the teacher. A weekly ½ - hour lesson for elementary and middle school students is recommended although a longer lesson is recommended for more serious students. 

    It is important to contact several private teachers to find a compatible personality for your music student. Ask about the teacher’s background and experiences, and tell them a little about your child before the first lesson.

    The following is not a complete list of teachers in the area, but a list of those that I am aware of who are highly recommended. If you know of other recommended local private teachers, please let me know so that I can contact them and possibly add them to the list.

     

    Lesson Instructors and Accompanists in the Coeur d’Alene area

    Updated March 10, 2019

    Violin

    David Armstrong / violinist.david@yahoo.com / 425-591-7951

    Emily Benjamin / emily.dn.benjamin@gmail.com / 406-788-8516

    Garnik Goukasian / goukaslukas@yahoo.com / 509-280-5193

    Scott Grunsted*/  derbowmeister@roadrunner.com 208-818-5295

    Karen Hoatson / khoatson@lynxstudio.com 951-809-5827

    April Martin / april@lakewoodmail.com / 208-946-8524

     

    Viola

    David Armstrong / violinist.david@yahoo.com / 425-591-7951

    Scott Grunsted* / derbowmeister@roadrunner.com / 208-818-5295

    April Martin / april@lakewoodmail.com / 208-946-8524

    Mo Oliver / mo@theofficenet.com / 208-819-0362

     

    Cello

    Delphine Bixby / 208-772-2906

    Mika Hood* / mika.m.hood@gmail.com / 405-637-6452

    Kristina Phillips* / kmphil@hotmail.com / 208-660-9295

    John Wheeler* / jpw@jlamarketing.com / 208 665-0694

     

    String Bass

    Kristina Phillips* / kmphil@hotmail.com / 208-660-9295

     

    Flute/Piccolo

    Monica Craig / monicacflute@gmail.com / 208-789-8908

    Jennifer Slaughter / jennslaughter@gmail.com / 515-865-6248

     

    Oboe

    Jill Cathey* / jill_cathey@yahoo.com / 509-926-7801

    Lindsay Hutson / lindsyhutson@gmail.com / 208-230-4090

     

    Clarinet

    Geoffrey Flolo / gfloloshalom@gmail.com / 703-673-6425

    Mark Secilla / msescilla@lakeland272.org / 208-687-0455

     

    Saxophone

    Mike Keepe / mike.keepe@gmail.com / 208-217-2870

    Ron Kieper / info@ronkieper.com / 208-699-6693

    Tyler Renninger / trenninger@sd273.com

     

    Bassoon

    Erin Foster / fosterbe@mac.com

    Melody Fisher / melodybassoonista@gmail.com / 509-969-3735

     

    Trumpet

    Michael Harrison / mharrison@cdacharter.org / 208-449-6591

    Terry Jones / 208-659-1631

    Jim Phillips* / jwp3coug@hotmail.com / 208-660-4110

     

    Horn

    Larry Strobel / 208-664-4904

    Casey Traver* / caseytraver@comcast.net / 509-922-2486

     

    Trombone/Euphonium

    Michael Harrison / mharrison@cdacharter.org / 208-449-6591

    Tim Sandford / tsandford@cdaschools.org / 208-667-9507

     

    Tuba

    Michael Harrison / mharrison@cdacharter.org / 208-449-6591

     

    Percussion

    Chris Grant* / cmgrant78@msn.com / 509-294-2283

    Michael Harrison / mharrison@cdacharter.org / 208-449-6591

     

    Piano / Accompanists

    Melody Harrison / melodynharrison@gmail.com / 208-610-4471

    Rita Huber / mtsareva@yahoo.com / 208-964-4746

    Colleen Hunter / hunterc@gonzaga.edu / 208-659-6657

    Cynthia Marlette / cynthia.marlette@gmail.com / 208-964-4746

    April Martin / april@lakewoodmail.com / 208-946-8524

    Cynthia Munson / munsonpiano@gmail.com / 208-667-1741

    Diana Pratt / Diana_pratt@hotmail.com / 253-670-4192

    Dr. Deborah Rambo Sinn / deborahrambosinn@gmail.com / 360-461-0904

    Mina Somekawa / msomekaw@msn.com / 509-443-3546

     

    *Denotes Coeur d'Alene Symphony Orchestra member